The amazing Casablanca Drivers’ UK tour

casablanca-drivers-printemps-de-bourges-blog-corse-andemu

If Corsican music is often assimilated to polyphonies in France, a band of 5 friends is giving it a whole other resonance across the Channel. Born 5 years ago in Corsica, the group Casablanca Drivers has just concluded an amazing tour in UK.

On the benches of university

It is on the benches of the University in Corte that the members of the group met. If Corsican singing was a first musical experience for some of them, the band very quickly turned to Rock with influences like The Strokes or The Velvet Underground.

casablanca-drivers-groupe-rock-corse-angleterre-blog-andemu

The first venues

A few weeks after their formation, the band performed for the first time at the Café du Cours in Corte before performing more than 50 concerts in 1 year. The Rock’n Wall festival in Corte, the Aghja stage and Ajaccio bars are the places where the Casablanca Drivers quickly beacame popular. A name which often intrigues, which is in fact “a nod to the French comedy Casablanca Driver, which tells the adventures of a failed boxer brought to face the defending champion. We all really liked this film, and since it sounded pretty good, we decided to make it our band’s name,” Nicolas explains.

.

casablanca-drivers-porto-vecchio-festival-blog-corse-andemu

Conquest of Paris and France

After a few months of existence, the Casablanca Drivers are performing in big corsican festivals such as the Porto Vecchio Festival or Porto Latino before crossing the sea to perform at the Printemps de Bourges. It is then in Paris that the group will land permanently to continue its conquest, while waiting to cross the sea again.

From London to Edinburgh, a first tour in UK

In recent weeks, the Casablanca Drivers have crossed the Channel to conquer the British public. A tour of nearly 10 dates which take them on stages in Glasgow, Liverpool, London, Edinburgh or Sheffield. A first international tour which, we hope, announces others !

casablanca-drivers-musique-corse-tournée-royaume-uni-blog-andemu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Casablanca Drivers, le groupe corse qui enflamme la Grande-Bretagne

casablanca-drivers-printemps-de-bourges-blog-corse-andemu

Casablanca Drivers, le groupe corse qui enflamme la Grande-Bretagne

Si la musique corse est souvent assimilée aux polyphonies dans l’hexagone, une bande de 5 copains lui donne en ce moment une toute autre résonance outre-Manche. Né il y a 5 ans en Corse, le groupe Casablanca Drivers vient de conclure une tournée dans toute la Grande-Bretagne.

 

Sur les bancs de la Fac

 

C’est sur les bancs de la Fac à Corte que les membres du groupe se sont rencontrés. Si le chant corse a été une première expérience musicale pour certains d’entre eux, le groupe s’est très vite tourné vers le Rock avec des influences comme The Strokes ou The Velvet Underground.

casablanca-drivers-groupe-rock-corse-angleterre-blog-andemu

Les premières scènes

 

Quelques semaines après sa formation le groupe se produit pour la première fois au Café du Cours à Corte avant de réaliser plus de 50 concerts en 1 an. Le festival Rock’n Wall à Corte, la scène de l’Aghja et les bars ajacciens sont les lieux où les Casablanca Drivers se font rapidement un nom. Un nom qui intrigue souvent, qui est en fait « un clin d’œil à la comédie française Casablanca Driver, qui raconte les péripéties d’un boxeur raté amené à affronter le champion en titre. On aimait tous beaucoup ce film, et comme ça sonnait plutôt bien, on a décidé d’en faire le nom de notre groupe » explique Nicolas.

casablanca-drivers-porto-vecchio-festival-blog-corse-andemu

A l’assaut des grands festivals et de la capitale

 

Après quelques mois d’existence, les Casablanca Drivers parcourent les grands festivals insulaires comme le Porto Vecchio Festival ou Porto Latino avant de traverser la mer pour se produire au Printemps de Bourges. C’est ensuite à Paris que le groupe se posera durablement pour poursuivre sa conquête, en attendant de traverser la mer à nouveau.

De Londres à Edinburgh, une tournée au Royaume-Uni

Depuis quelques semaines, les Casablanca Drivers ont franchi la Manche pour conquérir le public Britannique. Une tournée de près de 10 dates qui les emmènent sur les scènes de Glasgow, Liverpool, Londres, Edinburgh ou encore Sheffield. Une première tournée internationale qui, on l’espère, en annonce d’autres !

casablanca-drivers-musique-corse-tournée-royaume-uni-blog-andemu

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *